Key Clients


Family Rights Group is the charity in England and Wales that advises families whose children are involved with or need children’s services because of welfare needs or concerns.

We promote policies and practices, including family group conferences, that help children to be raised safely and securely within their families, and campaign for effective support to assist family and friends carers, including grandparents who are raising children that cannot live at home’ (Family Rights Group, 2011).

Title of Awards Available:

Postgraduate Certificate in Co-ordinating Family Group Conferences.

How Practitioners Progress their Development:

Once the PGCert is achieved, participants can progress to further WBIS awards, such as Postgraduate Diploma and Masters.


The Royal Air Force (RAF) is the air force branch of the British Armed Forces.

Title of Awards Available:

There is the opportunity to gain a university qualification ‘through an innovative and exciting scheme designed to meet the needs of RAF personnel’ (RAF Learning Forces).

Two Foundation Degrees were originally devised in Leadership and management and in Business. However, students from RAF can take any WBIS award, depending on personal circumstances.

How Practitioners Progress their Development:

On completion of the initial award, participants can progress to further WBIS awards, including Honours degrees, and postgraduate qualifications.



Wirral Health Trust controls two major hospitals: Arrowe Park Hospital (Wirral University Teaching Hospital), a major regional hospital offering the full range of 'acute' health services for adults and children, an Accident & Emergency (A&E) unit, a Maternity Unit and a Walk-In Centre, and Clatterbridge Hospital, a smaller centre with specialised centres of regional importance, notably Oncology and Orthopaedic Surgery. The trust employs a staff well in excess of 7000, of whom a total of over 150 clinical and administrative employees are currently registered as WBIS students.

Title of Awards Available:

a) Standard

 • BSc (Hons) Nursing Studies (WBIS)

• BSc (Hons) Midwifery Studies (WBIS)

• MA Leadership and Management in the Health Service

• MSc Nursing Studies (WBIS)

 • MSc Midwifery Studies (WBIS)

 b) Negotiated

 • BA (Hons) / BSc (Hons) Negotiable Award Title (WBIS)

 • PGCert Negotiable Award Title (WBIS)

 • PGDip Negotiable Award Title (WBIS)

 How Practitioners Progress their Development:

Students are able to join the WBIS programme at any level from 4 to 7, according to existing qualification and professional experience. There is extensive provision for APL (both Certificated and Experiential) available where applicable and students on all levels are able to negotiate study pathways which may blend WBIS modules, Negotiated Experiential Learning Modules and modules offered by other HEIs, provided the module content is congruent with the students’ award title.