All staff members in the department are approachable and enthusiastic, and keen to help students to get the most out of their studies. For further details of each lecturer's teaching and research interests, and other institutional responsibilities, please see our individual profiles. 

Meriel D'Artrey

Head of Department

P Taylor

Deputy Head of Department, Snr Lecturer Criminology


Deputy Head of Department, Snr Lecturer in Criminology

Dr Tina Thomas 2011

Programme Leader Psychological Trauma, Snr Lecturer

Mark Bendall

Snr Lecturer in Politics

Peter Cox

Snr Lecturer in Sociology

Tracey Clare



Lecturer, Programme Leader BA (Comb.) Counselling Skills

Blank girl


Julie Devonald

Lecturer, BA (Comb.) Counselling Skills

Carole Fuller

Adminstrative Assistant (Chester Campus)

Dr Nikki Kiyimba

Programme Leader MSc Therapeutic Practice for Psychological Trauma, Snr Lecturer

Dr Rosa Fernandez

Programme Leader for Economics, Snr Lecturer in Economics

Dr Xin Hao

Lecturer in Economics


Professor of Counselling and Spiritual Accompaniment


Snr Lecturer in Counselling

Dr Alessandro Pratesi

Programme Leader, Sociology (Single and Combined Honours)

Rita Mintz

Programme Leader MA Counselling Studies, Snr Lecturer in Counselling

Dr Jason Powell


Dr Andrew Reeves

Senior Lecturer in Counselling and Psychotherapy


Senior Lecturer

Natalie Robinson

Lecturer in Criminology

Dr Jo Shuttleworth

Lecturer in Psychological Trauma

Valda Swinton

Programme Leader PG Dip./MA Snr Lecturer in Counselling

Edgar Tempo

Senior Lecturer and Programme Leader for Politics and International Relations

Professor Gordon Turnbull

Visiting Professor in Psychological Trauma

Prof William West

Visiting Professor in Counselling

Blank girl

Lecturer in Criminology

Rachael Bate

Departmental Administrator, Chester Campus