Who we are

The Faculty comprises the Departments of English, History & Archaeology, Modern Languages, and Theology and Religious Studies. Currently there are more than one thousand students following some forty taught undergraduate and postgraduate programmes, and over one hundred postgraduate research students. There are about sixty academic and support staff in the Faculty.

The Faculty's main commitment is to the provision of high-quality programmes of study in the humanities, informed by scholarship and research, and designed to promote the personal and professional development of its students for the benefit of society as a whole. The Faculty has an outstanding all-round record of achievement. The quality of learning and teaching in the Faculty is extremely impressive, confirmed by the evidence of numerous internal and external reviews and audits.

Student evaluations and surveys demonstrate consistently high levels of satisfaction with the Faculty's programmes. The Faculty's staff are the best qualified in the University and the most active and productive in scholarship and research. The results of the most recent Research Assessment Exercise recognised that research in English and History is world-leading and internationally excellent in Theology and Religious Studies.


Faculty Leadership

Professor Rob Warner Dean of Humanities
Charlotte Morgan Faculty Administrator
Dr Wayne Morris Associate Dean/Head of Theology and Religious Studies
Dr Sarah Heaton Head of English
Professor Meggen Gondek Head of History and Archaeology
Dr Mark Gant Head of Modern Languages