Excellence in Teaching Awards 2015

Posted on 10th February 2016

Each year, the Faculty celebrates its commitment to excellence in teaching and learning by awarding prizes to those lecturers who have gone "above and beyond" in the cause of student engagement.

First prize this year was awarded to Dr. Matt Davies, Department of English, with runners-up certificates going to his colleagues from the English Language team, Dr. Helen West and Dr. Urszula Skrzypik.

The Faculty also held a presentation for the Faculty Research Monograph Award. This year, the award went to Professor Oliver Scharbrodt for his book Muslims in Ireland, which the Dean feels "deserves wide audiences, not only in Ireland but across the international field of Islamic Studies". Oliver is pictured below being presented with his award by the Dean, together with Dr. Dawn Llewellyn, also of the Department of Theology and Religious Studies, who was highly commended for her monograph Reading, Feminism, and Spirituality.